#3

#3 Jude Law and A Semester Abroad by Brand New

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vlAqE1zgY-I

For a long time this was the number one song on my list, probably most due to nostalgic reasons, seeing as it’s been with me for about a decade now, longer than every song on the list except for Everlong by The Foo Fighters, Grass Is Green by Tony Rich and a couple Dashboard Confessional songs. Part of the reason for that is that growing up I loved rap and R&B, which I don’t like very much anymore, so most of the songs from my youth stayed in my youth as I quickly transitioned to alternative rock and emoish rock, whatever you would classify bands like Brand New, Dashboard Confessional, and Taking Back Sunday as.

“Whatever poisons in this bottle will keep me broken sore and stiff, but it’s the genie at the bottom who I’m sucking at, he owes me one last wish. So here’s a present to let you know I still exist. I hope the next boy that you kiss has something terribly contagious on his lips.”

            Great lyrics to start out a song with, but sort of out of place seeing as I didn’t mention how this song fell from the original number one spot on my list now to number three.

I included nostalgia in accounting for where each song fits on the countdown, and this song is loaded with nostalgia seeing as it was my favorite song on my favorite CD until I got Is A Real Boy by Say Anything about four or five years after I had gotten Your Favorite Weapon by Brand New, and that was back before I had a lot of CDs or the internet so I didn’t have a lot of music to listen to, so I listened to this album over and over and over again and the song never got old, and still isn’t old.

But more so than nostalgia is the “If I could only listen to one song for the rest of my life and the rest I never get to listen to again which song would I pick,” factor, and the two songs remaining on the list I feel like I would need to listen to more in my life than this song, and not just because one of the songs I first heard around 2006 and the other around 2010, so I’ve heard them a lot less than this song which I first heard around 2001/2002, but for various musical and personal reasons.

“And even if her plane crashes tonight she’ll find some way to disappoint me, by not burning in the wreckage, or drowning at the bottom of the sea.”

            That line is vicious, just plain vicious, but I love it, and I don’t see myself as a vicious person. I don’t want anyone who hurt me in the past to die. And I’m not disappointed when good things happen to them, in fact I want good things to happen to them. This girl broke my fucking heart multiple times but I still love her and want her to find a man who makes her happier than I could and go on to have a family and an amazingly happy life, but despite all that for some reason I love these song lyrics more than almost any other song lyrics I’ve ever heard.

Perhaps subconsciously I want these people who hurt me in the past to feel pain. I definitely know I want them to miss me, and be sad that they don’t have me anymore, and I don’t feel good knowing that, but it’s true sometimes. But overall I sincerely want them to be happy, and maybe it’s the part of me that wishes I wasn’t me that connects with these lyrics, and knows – or at least thinks – that if I were the type of person who thought that way it might be better for my happiness, which sounds weird when put to that extreme, but if I thought about my happiness more and others a little bit less I might be a happier person.

About Danniel

http://closertoclarity.com/
This entry was posted in The Music List and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

