TV, Girls, Such and Such

On this weeks episode of the podcast Chris and I spent some time talking about new TV shows, or rather Chris listened to me talk about the girls I like on new TV shows. I do enjoy watching pretty girls on TV, but I was surprised to learn that some of my favorite shows of all time didn’t really have very many women I was attracted to on them. This got me to thinking, are beautiful women on TV good for ratings but bad for overall quality? That would be a really interesting thing to write about. But that seems like a lot of work, and God oh God damn am I lazy.

The first show I talked about was Last Man Standing, the new Tim Allen show. It’s a safe bet for Timmy Al in that it’s essentially Home Improvement but with daughters, so seemingly they can get the Home Improvement audience to watch. However, who was the Home Improvement audience? A lot of my friends watched it, but I maintain that if they watched it today they would see that it was a piece of crap, so they probably wouldn’t like Last Man Standing, which from what I can tell is better than Home Improvement, but that’s not saying much. I think Home Improvement also claimed a lot of middle aged viewers, who are now probably old perverts, and the show has a couple of hot girls on it, so that will be right up their alley.

What a sweet ass

The next show I talked about is New Girl, the Zooey – contemplates whether trying to spell her last name from memory or going straight to google is faster, and now decides going to google is the right answer – Deschanel show where she lives with three guys. This is where I first noticed that Zooey Deschanel has a nice set of thighs. Yes, I am a leg man. I don’t really know what Zooey Deschanel’s butt looks like. I only typed that because that was what I was thinking. I didn’t really want you to know that’s what I was thinking, but it’s a true thought. On the show she wears a lot of frilly dresses, short frilly dresses, so it’s rare that you actually get to see the curvature of her butt. “Oh baby, the curvature of your butt is turning me on so much.” Just thought it’d be funny if someone said that.

The show isn’t great, but it also isn’t horrible. That’s the extent of my thoughts that don’t include Zooey Deschanel.

The final show I talked about is my favorite of the three by far, and that show is Suburgatory. It’s about a dad and daughter from New York City who move to a suburban neighborhood where everyone acts very stereotypical yet it somehow still manages to be entertaining because the characters are kind of all stereotypical but in their own way. It’s quirky and generally smart, which is nice in a comedy. The greatest examples of combining silly and smart are Arrested Development, my all time favorite show, and Newsradio which goes from Andy Dick smashing through a window straight to Dave Foley making a political joke that my 12 year old ass didn’t understand but probably still laughed at. Those are my two favorite shows of all time, so I love when shows can figure out how to do silly and smart well. This show does it pretty well so far, but what the hell does that have to do with girls?

Jane Levy

The female lead is a cute red head by the name of Jane Levy. She’s very adorable and although her character is only 16 she’s really like 19 or 20 or something over 18 so I can say she’s attractive without feeling creepy. So I’m very attractive to her as an actress, but her 16 year old character I have no feelings on (because that makes sense…) It doesn’t make not sense (smooth). Also I’m very attracted to Cheryl Hines. I don’t know why I’m so attracted to her, but I am. I mean obviously she’s a beautiful lady, but she’s not so much in my age demographic. I should be mulling over the likes of Selena Gomez, Miley Cyrus and Justin Bieber (because you’re a 15 year old lesbian?) Nah man, it’s ‘cause I’m hip to the hopity (well obviously).

If you like stuff that’s hip to the hopity like me (quit saying that) then click on this link and listen to the recent episode of The Closer To Clarity Podcast, where this week Chris and Quentin – or I, I suppose – talk about the aforementioned TV shows, Halloween, Books about believing in God, and a girl named Beb.

About Danniel

http://closertoclarity.com/
This entry was posted in crap and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TV, Girls, Such and Such

  1. tootsiewoo says:

    I’m so glad you mentioned Suburgatory! I feel like I’m the only person watching it and I really like it (though I initially watched it to make fun of it…rude)! This comment isn’t about the girls attractiveness (sorry dude) but just about the shows solidness (solidness?), and that’s it…didn’t know how to end that one…

    • Danniel says:

      I think the comment was ended pretty appropriately. For me the show is becoming quite more than solid. I’m not exactly sure what more than solid is, but it’s something good. I’m becoming invested in some of the characters, which isn’t something I thought would happen when I initially started watching it. I think it’s doing pretty well with viewers. Nothing amazing, but enough for ABC to order a full season of the show and I imagine if Happy Endings got a second season than Suburgatory will at least get that if not better.

Leave a Reply

