NBC Thursday Comedy Commentary

Spoiler Alert!  There will be spoilers – what if I said “Spoiler Alert” and then said that there wasn’t going to be spoilers? It’d still be an alert involving the notification of spoiler awareness.

The Office – Season 8, Episode 1 – The List

Steve Carell is an amazing actor, and I don’t mean amazing comedy actor, I mean an amazing actor. What’s-his-face (Christian Bale) may have Golden Globes, Oscars, and bad breath, but he’s never once made me laugh – except for that time he yelled at that low level guy on the set of Terminator Salvation and called him an amateur. Despite garnering a higher sum total laughter from shows like Arrested Development, Newsradio and The Simpsons, I’m not sure one character has ever made me laugh as much as Michael Scott, but what’s more impressive is Carell’s dramatic acting. Even towards the beginning of Season 2 when there were few reasons to feel any sympathy for his character, in the Halloween episode where he has to fire an employee at the very end of the episode he’s giving candy to kids and his character becomes very likable and sympathetic. I think it has much less to do with the writing and much more to do with the acting. I defy anyone to name an actor who can make a person laugh to tears, and then in the same half hour pull out enough emotion to bring tears to a persons eyes. It will be hard watching a full season of The Office without Carell, but I’m going to try.

Ellie Kemper is really adorable. Her character, Erin, might be my new favorite on the show, and only partly because she’s so damn cute. I find her character right up my ally of girls I’m attracted too. Weird. Not weird that I find her character attractive, but her character is weird, that’s why I like her character.

So James Spader is not going to be the manager, but he will be the CEO, so that means no more Kathy Bates since Harry’s Law apparently took off and is doing relatively well.

Andy as office manager…my first inklings of thoughts are that I don’t like this.

Pam and Angela are both pregnant. I assume both in real life because this is really soon to give Pam a second baby, and giving Angela a baby from a probably gay politician talked about a lot but very rarely seen is a weird choice to throw into the story. I think they just don’t want to go through the hassle of hiding her stomach again like they did in Season 4 when she was dating Andy but fucking Dwight.

James Spader’s character, who’s name I should probably learn, is right. Whenever I draw a penis it’s always circumcised. Probably just based on experience.

I didn’t laugh much during this episode, but for some reason I did when Dwight told everyone to line up and then yelled attack and also at the end of the Episode when Andy was giving defense to the “losers” and when saying the good things about Meredith he said she never says no, obviously a double entendre on her active sex life. But about that last scene. It reminded me too much of Carell’s character as boss, which is part of the reason I hate Andy has the manager. Both him and Scott have a hard time holding back and not saying dumb things. So even when they do a good thing, like Andy did at the end of this episode, it comes out genuine but in a way funny to the viewer because Andy says things like, in regards to telling James Spader good things about Stanley, “And you may think he’s hard to love, but did you know he’s not in one, but two long term romantic relationships,” which is funny, but is exactly something Michael Scott would have said, so I hate it because it feels like they’re trying to recreate that feel which makes me think they’re trying to pull one over on the audience by putting Andy Bernard as the boss so they can still have the Michael being a dumb boss over his head moments without having Steve Carell. I’m worrying a little bit for this season.

 

Community – Season 3, Episode 1 – Biology 101

I’m supposed to like Community because it’s unique and funny, but for the most part I hate it because it feels like a show I would do, and I don’t like almost any of the characters except Abed, who I usually like a lot, but not so much in this episode.

Alison Brie had an adorable partial tushie flash during the opening dance number. That alone was worth watching the episode. And I mean that literally. It alone was the only reason to watch the episode…I kid, I kid…but almost really. I didn’t enjoy this episode much. Very subpar on the laughs for a Community episode.

Garrett Donovan and Neil Goldman wrote this episode, which explains Abed’s love of Cougar Town because Cougar Town was created by Bill Lawrence, who created Scrubs – and is also married to Christa Miller (The Drew Carey Show, aforementioned Cougar Town, Scrubs – which Donovan and Goldman wrote on – they also wrote on the early seasons of Family Guy, so for anyone keeping track that’s three shows with pretty good Comedy records they wrote for.

I like John Goodman.

I’m always so uncomfortable when I see Donald Glover on this show because I like him better as a Rapper than comedic actor.

 

Whitney – Season 1, Episode 1 – Spicing Things Up

I remember really liking Whitney Cummings when she first came on the Adam Carolla radio show a few years ago. Since then she’s became really big as a comedian, especially on the Comedy Central Roasts, and now she has two TV shows out – one of which I’ll get to in a minute.

I’m not very attracted to Whitney Cummings, because she’s tall and skinny, neither of which I like. But something about her is very adorable and charming.  It makes me want to continue watching this show even though I don’t find it that funny or am that interested in the characters, one of which is Maulik Pancholy, which means absolutely nothing to me and probably you, but he played Alec Baldwins assistant Jonathon on 30 Rock.

This shows piles in a lot of jokes a minute, it’s just most of the time they aren’t that great. It feels like I’m watching a bunch of jokes more than a show. I don’t feel like I could ever really care for these characters or look at them as anything other than characters.

I can't for the life of me figure out what compelled me to use this picture. Must be some deeply rooted subconscious thing.

The other show Whitney Cummings has out this fall is 2 Broke Girls on CBS, Mondays. Whitney doesn’t star in this show, but instead co-created it. I mostly only watched this show because I got into the habit of watching TV shows this morning, and oh, in case you haven’t noticed Kat Dennings is probably one of the most beautiful girls in the entire universe and I am a boy so things like that appeal to me. Yes, her boobs are amazing and heavily feature in the show both visually and in script – although not as much as Pamela Anderson’s were in one of my favorite shows to watch as a horny teenage boy, Stacked – but she just has a really adorable face and her legs are my idea of perfect – yes, when I say I don’t like skinny women I mean it, “model” skinny is ugly, but even just regular skinny isn’t that appealing to me.

The show was a lot better than I thought it’d be, especially since my expert TV watching friend Christopher said it wasn’t good. It wasn’t that funny, but for some reason I was drawn into the characters a lot more than other shows, even though there wasn’t that much of a reason to, and definitely nothing you couldn’t see coming. But this show has potential with me. I don’t recommend going out of your way to watch this show, unless you’re a boy going through puberty and you don’t have access to the internet (then how would they be reading this?) I was a little perverted boy going through puberty once, they’ll be able to sense it.

 

Parks And Recreation – Season 4, Episode 1 – I’m Leslie Knope

Probably the funniest show currently on television, although I wasn’t in love with this episode, nor any episode of a sitcom I’ve watched this fall yet.

Aubrey Plaza is pretty adorable in a curmudgeonly way.

I like that the oft made fun of Jerry gets to have a huge penis. Speaking of that, I could never be a doctor because I’d probably have to see a lot of penises and invariably some of those would be much bigger than mine and that would be depressing so I’d have to write myself a prescription for oxycontin and then take the whole bottle at once.

That is all.

About Danniel

http://closertoclarity.com/
This entry was posted in crap and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NBC Thursday Comedy Commentary

  1. sololos says:

    The supporting characters on 2 Broke Girls are so terrible. At least in the pilot, they seemed completely one-note and shallow. Also, I thought the Dennings character was not very likable. She was too shallow and rude to people–especially the blonde socialite character whom I thought had a lot more depth than I expected. Beyond that, most of the jokes simply weren’t funny to me. I also don’t share in everyone’s view that Kat Dennings is super super beautiful. She has bad facial expressions.

  2. sololos says:

    If you think Community is like a show you would do then you should try writing a Community spec script. It’s perfect because you feel like it’s similar to your voice but you also want it to be better so you could make it the way you want.

    • Danniel says:

      I think my love for Dennings might have shadowed many of my negative thoughts towards the show. I noticed the one note side characters in both the Whitney Cummings shows. They were so annoying and completely predictable sitcom characters. I agree about the blonde character. That was probably the most surprising thing of any show I watched this week, that her character was actually kind of likable and not just a predictable Paris Hilton modeled character.

      I don’t like so many of the characters in Community so even if I wrote a Community spec script I don’t even think I’d enjoy it. It’d have to be Abed heavy. I thought about writing a Parks And Recreation spec script and for some reason I just don’t think I’d be able to do it. I’m not even really sure why.

Leave a Reply

