#30 Yelling Hair

#30 Screaming Infidelities by Dashboard Confessional

This is quietly one of my favorite song titles ever. It’s not a hint of an infidelity, and it’s not just one infidelity. These are screaming infidelities. I don’t exactly know what a screaming infidelity would be. In the song directly after this on the album The Places You Have Come To Fear The Most (The Best Deceptions) Carrabba sings, “And this awkward kiss that tells of other people’s lips will be of service to keeping you away.” That seems like a hint of infidelity, but not screaming of it. I imagine screaming of infidelity would be walking in on your girlfriend (or boyfriend) with one cock up her (or his) ass and another one six inches down her (or his) throat. Nothing less of that will I accept as screaming infidelities.

Probably the first 85 times I heard this song almost ten years ago I had no idea what an infidelity was. Did that necessarily change the concept of the song? No, not really. I got the point that he was lonely and no longer with a girl he once loved, or rather still loved. However, I must have been confused with the, “Your hair is everywhere, screaming infidelities, and taking its wear,” lyrics. I’m dumb now, so I can only assume that I must have been much dumber than, so I can’t imagine what I must have been thinking when hearing him sing of hair screaming about some word I had no context for except infidels, which I was only vaguely aware of at that age. I can’t be sure this is what I thought, but I’ll toss out a guess that I thought he was singing about his ex girlfriend who was an infidel refugee suffering from alopecia. And as we all know poetry and lyrics are up to interpretation, so technically I wasn’t wrong in that assumption.

About Danniel

http://closertoclarity.com/
This entry was posted in The Music List and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

