#76 MakeDamnSure by Taking Back Sunday

“I just wanna break you down so badly, while I trip over everything you say. I just wanna break you down so badly, in the worst way. I’m gonna make damn sure that you can’t ever leave. No, you won’t ever get too far from me.”

I don’t know if this kind of psychological thinking goes on in the heads of jackasses when they’re being dickheads to their girlfriends, but I think the situation where a guy, or I suppose it’s possible it could be a girl, breaks down their significant other to the point where they no longer feel like they could be without them happens a lot more than on rare occasions. I’ve seen it a few times in real life where one of my jerk friends is dating a sweet girl and I can’t for the life of me understand what she sees in him. My first thought is that he must have a huge penis to match his huge ego. My second thought is a lot more macabre, and that her parents were mean to her so the only kind of love she knows is the mean kind of ‘love’. My third thought was horribly disgusting and I wouldn’t dare write it here, but if you email me I’d be glad to share it with you. And no it wasn’t rape, but a little too close.

I don’t get the whole thing where guys put down their girls while they think their self is the greatest thing on earth. First off if the guy is so great why is he dating a girl who he keeps calling dumb? (Because she has big breasts?) Ah yes, big breasts concur all. But not in this scenario, because she’s not really dumb, he’s just calling her dumb because he’s a jerk. Sometimes the girl catches on to this and leaves the guy before it gets to deep. But far too many times the girl is pulled in by the gravity of the guy’s massive jackassholery.

I like to go the other way. I’ve mentioned it before and it was just as true then as it is now, but I’ll tell a girl a million ways she’s wonderful, never lying, and tell her a million ways I’m horrible, sometimes in jest but mostly just good old fashion self deprecation, and then explain to her how she deserves much better than me, which is probably true. You know what happens next of course. She finds a guy much better than me. Actually no, I disagree. She finds a guy much worse than me, usually one of those jerks who puts her down, but talks ever so highly of himself. I’ve learned the hard way – by watching hours and hours of Jersey Shore – that the douche bag, cocky guy will get a million times more girls than the sweet guy who’s always complimenting the girl – I’ve actually never watched an entire episode of Jersey Shore, and that’s actually the best thing I could ever say about myself.

People buy into the bullshit these cocky egomaniacs say about themselves. I fucking can’t stand it, and it’s most of the reason I will always be very self deprecative even when I don’t particularly believe it, and that’s part of the reason I will spend a good portion of my life alone, with annoying baby kitties who always pee on my stuff. No matter what you say if you say it enough people will start to believe it. I’m convinced of this. And a person would much rather be with a person who considers their self great than a person who considers their self crap. Because if that person is with the person who is great, even though it’s total bullshit and that guys a jackass, – no one particular in mind, expect for the fact that I have someone precisely particular in mind – then they’re great by association. Whereas why would they want to be with the person who considers their self not so great, because that would mean they’re not so great either.

If only there were some kind of middle ground where a guy would think highly of himself while also being ever so sweet to the girl? But alas, we do not live in fairy tales.

About Danniel

http://closertoclarity.com/
This entry was posted in The Music List and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #76 MakeDamnSure by Taking Back Sunday

  1. This is the first TBS song I ever heard. I’m glad that I decided to check out more of their stuff. The video for the song is so clever, with the bad things changing into good things.

Leave a Reply

